Skip to main content

    SiteKiln gives you plain-English information, not legal advice. If you need advice specific to your situation, talk to a qualified professional.

    Working as a Contractor in Oklahoma: Tax, Licensing and Getting Paid

    9 min read·Reviewed July 2026
    By Scott JonesFirst published Jul 9, 2026Updated Sep 4, 2026
    Working in Your State

    How this site is funded →

    Most of what changes for a tradesperson in Oklahoma is set by the state, not Washington: how you get paid, whether you need to register, and what you owe in tax. Here is what actually differs, and where to run your own numbers.‍‌​​‌​‌​‌‌​​​​​‌‌‌​‌‌​​‌‌‌‌‌​​‌​​‍

    Each section below points to a tool that runs your exact numbers for Oklahoma.

    Tax in Oklahoma

    Oklahoma has a graduated state income tax that runs up to 4.5% at the top, on top of your federal taxes. Graduated means the rate climbs as your profit does, so a good year costs proportionally more. You owe federal income tax and self-employment tax as well, and you make estimated payments to both Oklahoma and the IRS through the year.

    On sales tax, Oklahoma follows the usual rule for the trades: your labor is not taxed, and you pay sales tax on your materials when you buy them rather than charging it to the customer.

    Work out what to hold back on the Tax Set-Aside Calculator, which runs the federal and self-employment numbers for Oklahoma.

    Getting paid: liens and retainage

    A mechanic's lien is the tool that actually gets a Oklahoma contractor paid, and in Oklahoma you generally have to record it within 90 days of your last day of furnishing under the subcontract. Miss it and you lose the lien, so the dates matter.

    Enforcing it has its own clock. 1 year from the date the lien statement was filed with the county clerk. Work out your dates on the Lien Deadline tool, and if they are close, get an attorney to confirm them against the statute (42 O.S. §§142, 142.6(B)(1), (3), 143, 172).

    On money held back as retainage, here is where Oklahoma lands:

    • Private work: No statutory cap on private work in Oklahoma. Whatever your contract says governs, so read the withholding clause.
    • Public work: 5% of all partial payments made; after the halfway point the reduced rate is measured on the amount earned to date. Nothing may be held at all.
    • Release: Private: no number of days is set at all. It falls due on whatever the contract says. Public: 21 days from a certificate of substantial completion is issued for the project or a separate usable phase of it, with adequate performance by the prime contractor and the approval of any applicable surety.
    • Prompt pay: A prime must release a subcontractor's share within 10 calendar days of receiving it, and everyone below within 7 calendar days. Those periods cannot be shortened, lengthened or waived by contract. Late final payment carries 1.5% a month, or 0.75% a month from a school district.

    And the step-down is not the same thing as a right. Oklahoma cuts the rate to 2.5% when the contractor has completed in excess of 50% of the total contract amount AND the public agency has determined that satisfactory progress is being made. That drop is not automatic: somebody has to make a finding in your favor first, and reaching the milestone on its own entitles you to nothing. Ask in writing and get the finding recorded. Neither §113.1 nor §226 addresses putting the rate back up.

    Check the Retainage Calculator before you sign a contract that holds back more.

    Free Oklahoma retainage letters

    Three letters written for Oklahoma's rules, with the state's own release clock and its statutory citation already in them. Fill one in on screen and download it as a PDF or a Word file.

    Do you need a license in Oklahoma?

    Oklahoma has no statewide general contractor license, so for most building work there is no state license to get. That is one of the things that makes Oklahoma straightforward to start in. It does not mean no rules at all: the state still licenses specific trades like electrical and plumbing, and your city or county can require its own registration or permits, so always check locally before you take a job on.

    Trade licenses for electrical, plumbing and HVAC are usually separate and often required even where a GC license is not. See what applies to your trade on the Contractor License Checker.

    Building codes and permits

    Oklahoma adopts its building codes statewide, so the rules travel with you across the state. Editions still move, so confirm yours with the building department before you price a job.

    • Homes: 2018 (moving to 2024 on 14 September 2026)
    • Electrical: 2023 (the rule is worded for commercial construction; its reach into dwellings is not stated in terms)
    • Energy: 2018 IRC chapter 11 for dwellings / 2006 IECC with ASHRAE 90.1-2003 for commercial
    • Plumbing: 2018 IPC for commercial, moving to 2024 on 14 September 2026 / the IRC's own plumbing parts for dwellings

    Oklahoma does not run one edition across the whole job, and the electrical code is where it splits: 2023 (the rule is worded for commercial construction; its reach into dwellings is not stated in terms). That matters more than the number itself. If you work on houses, the residential edition is your book, and the single figure quoted in most adoption charts is the commercial one.

    Oklahoma sets one statewide minimum through the Uniform Building Code Commission and a municipality must abide by it, may go higher, and may not opt out or go lower, so there is no jurisdiction here with no code. Two things are worth more than the edition numbers. The commercial energy requirement is the 2006 IECC with ASHRAE 90.1-2003, reached by an edit inside the building code rather than by a standalone energy rule, and it is decades behind the rest of the stack. And the whole building, plumbing, mechanical and fuel-gas set moves to the 2024 editions on 14 September 2026. Watch out for municipal websites: some still list editions the state superseded years ago, and the state figure is the enforceable floor.

    Source: Oklahoma Administrative Code title 748 chapter 20, adopted by the Oklahoma Uniform Building Code Commission under 59 O.S. §§1000.21 to 1000.30, in particular §1000.23. We have not yet read this row against Oklahoma's own adopting authority, so confirm the edition locally before you rely on it.

    Check a specific job on the permit tool.

    Pay and workers' comp

    The minimum wage in Oklahoma is the federal $7.25 an hour. That is the floor for anyone you put on the books, and it is worth confirming against the state labor department each year because several states step their rate mid-year. Check a rate on the minimum-wage tool.

    Workers' comp rates in Oklahoma are not published as a single figure; they turn on your trade's class code and your payroll. Get a realistic range on the Workers' Comp Estimator, then get a real quote.

    If a client will not pay

    If a client will not pay, you can sue for up to $10,000 in Oklahoma's District Court, small claims. That covers most unpaid-invoice disputes for a small outfit; a bigger claim goes to regular civil court where you will probably want an attorney. Walk through whether filing is worth it on the Small Claims checker.

    The clock runs the other way too: a client generally has 5 years to sue you over the work under a written contract in Oklahoma, and there is no absolute cutoff, so your exposure turns on when a defect is found. Work out your exposure on the Warranty & Claim Deadline tool.

    Common questions

    How much state income tax will I pay in Oklahoma?

    Oklahoma has a graduated rate up to 4.5% state income tax on your profit, on top of federal income tax and self-employment tax. Use the Tax Set-Aside Calculator to see what to hold back.

    Do I need a contractor's license in Oklahoma?

    For most general building work, no. Oklahoma has no statewide general contractor license. The state still licenses specific trades and your city or county may require its own registration, so check both.

    What is the small claims limit in Oklahoma?

    You can sue for up to $10,000 in Oklahoma's District Court, small claims. The filing fee is typically $42 to $80. Larger claims go to regular civil court.

    How long do I have to file a mechanic's lien in Oklahoma?

    Generally 90 days from your last day of furnishing under the subcontract. Miss it and you lose the lien. Work your own dates out on the Lien Deadline tool.

    How much retainage can be held back in Oklahoma?

    Public: 5% of all partial payments made; after the halfway point the reduced rate is measured on the amount earned to date. Public, transportation: nothing may be held at all. Run your own figure on the Retainage Calculator.

    Are there free Oklahoma contract and payment forms?

    Yes. This page links 3 retainage letters written to Oklahoma's own release clock and carrying its statutory citation. They are free, there is no sign-up, and you fill one in on screen and download it as a PDF or a Word file.

    What is the minimum wage in Oklahoma?

    $7.25 an hour, the federal floor. Check a specific job on the minimum-wage tool.

    The honest bit

    These are the 2026 rules for Oklahoma as they stood when this guide was written, and they change: legislatures move thresholds, deadlines and rates every year. Treat this as general guidance to point you in the right direction, not legal, tax or financial advice. Verify anything you rely on at the source (the IRS, the Oklahoma tax and licensing agencies, and your local building department) or with a professional. Where Oklahoma does something unusual, the detail is called out above rather than glossed over.

    Related: Tax Set-Aside Calculator · Mechanic's Lien Deadline · Contractor License Checker · Small Claims checker · Working in Your State

    Know someone who needs this?

    Share on WhatsApp

    Templates you might need

    How this site is funded →

    Was this guide useful?

    Didn't find what you were looking for?

    Spotted something wrong or out of date? Email us at hello@kilnguides.co.uk.

    In crisis? 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 ·

    How this site is funded →